Portofino Pizza

This restaurant is in Miami, Florida. Not sure if anywhere else. However, the tips on making a vegan meal in a pizza/pasta place can be used anywhere.

One of my boyfriend’s favorite restaurants! Very delicious food, including the pizza, that I used to eat when I was a vegetarian and not a vegan. Once I made the transition, I had to look for something else to eat here. I have found that with a little creativity and willingness from the server, anything is possible.

An easy meal at pizza/pasta restaurants is to order pasta. Simple spagetti with marinera, then add some mushrooms or eggplant.

Another options, which is the more creative one, is to choose a sandwich or panini and re-create it. Today I ordered a lunch combo with a salad and a panini. If you explain to the waiter that you don’t eat meat or animal products, they are more willing to work with you. I told her I wanted a panini with caramelized onions, mushrooms, eggplant, tomato, and lettuce and if I could have it with some pizza tomato sauce. What came out was a great unique vegan panini!

They also have an eggplant parmesan sandwich, which would be ok, except the eggplant is breaded with egg. So no to that one.

For the appetizer, we order the potato chips. These are handcut, homemade, seasoned potato chips. They come with a sauce that is mayo based (my boyfriend is obsessed with this sauce) but I eat them with ketchup.

Always remember to ask for what you want and re-create meals that you want to make vegan. Most often than not, they’ll do it!

20130617-175315.jpg

20130617-175327.jpg

Leave a Reply

